PTA


Click here for the preliminary 2019-2020 Washington PTA budget

The goal of the Washington PTA is twofold: to promote and build family engagement to foster positive outcomes for every child, and to raise money to support Washington’s enrichment programming.

We promote family engagement through meetings and events structured to welcome and empower parents to be active in their child’s school community. We also provide funding for dinner and childcare during meetings of affinity groups such as ELAC, AAUG, XSpecial Families and LGBTQ Families to enable more families to attend these events and be involved in the school.

Money we raise supports many enrichment programs at Washington, including PE with Coach Don, Restorative Justice with Jamal Williams and Movement with Miss Julie. Washington’s PTA also gives more money directly to teachers than any other school in the district. This comes in the form of thrice-yearly mini-grants which teachers use to cover supplies, field trips and events.

Each Friday morning during the school year, the PTA hosts a coffee hour across from the office where parents stop by to catch up with each other.

Monthly PTA meetings provide a forum for parents, teachers, and the principal to share information and collaborate.

Washington Elementary School is a 501(c)3 charitable organization. All donations are fully tax-deductible (non-profit Federal Tax ID No. 94-6174706).


2019-2020 Officers

To email the entire board: officers@washington.berkeleypta.org

President Liz Schultz president@washington.berkeleypta.org

Executive VP Amanda Sabin vicepresident@washington.berkeleypta.org

V.P. Programming/Events Martin Johnson events@washington.berkeleypta.org

V.P. Fundraising Nicola Gillespie fundraising@washington.berkeleypta.org

V.P. AUGG Lo AuCoin aaug@washington.berkeleypta.org

Treasurer Lydia Bryans treasurer@washington.berkeleypta.org

Financial Secretary Robyn Barfield treasurer@washington.berkeleypta.org

Secretary Krushetta Walker secretary@washington.berkeleypta.org

Historian Nikki Pin Mazza historian@washington.berkeleypta.org

Parliamentarian Rebecca Rabkin parliamentarian@washington.berkeleypta.org

Room Parent Coordinator Nikki Pin Mazza roomparents@washington.berkeleypta.org

Member At Large Kate Cunnane-Walsh katewc@me.com

Member At Large Max Sell maxsell@gmail.com


We welcome contributions!

We only are as strong as the individuals in our community and welcome all contributions, of time, money, and effort – large and small!

  • Donate online to help our PTA support learning and enrichment at Washington.

  • Support Washington by purchasing escrip, donating supplies, or joining the PTA.

  • Attend our monthly PTA meetings or talk to one of our PTA officers.


Have an idea, question, or concern?

Contact the Executive Board.